Home > Local News
Dr. Seidu Daanaa, others approved by Parliament
From: Ghana/Myjoyonline.com/Jerry Tsatro Mordy          Published On: February 13, 2013, 12:58 GMT
  Comments ()     Email     Print  


Dr. Seidu Daanaa, others approved by Parliament

Dr. Seidu Danaa

On Wednesday, Ghana’s one-sided Parliament approved 11 more nominees appointed by President John Mahama to head various ministries in his government.

Joy News' Elton John Brobbey reported that the majority side of the House unanimously approved the nominations after considering the report of the Appointments Committee, which vetted them. The parliamentary minority have boycotted matters relating to the president's appointments because party leaders are challenging his legitimacy as president in the Supreme Court.

The newly approved ministers include Nii Armaah Ashitey, Minister-designate for Employment and Labour Relations, Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare, Minister-designate for Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts; Mr. Nyon Bilijo, Minister-designate for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development and Nii Ashitey Agbo, Minister-designate for the Greater Accra Region.

The others are Paul Evans Aidoo, Minister-designate for the Western Region, Hani Sherry Ayitey, Minister-designate for Health, Elvis Afriyie Ankrah, Minister-designate for Youth and Sports, and Mr. Kwesi Awhoi, Interior Minister-designate.

The rest are Dr. Seidu Danaa, Minister-designate for Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs, Mark Owen Woyongo, Minister-designate for Defense, and Eric Opoku, Minister-designate for the Bono Ahafo Region.

Meanwhile, the Committee has begun vetting other ministerial nominees, including Samuel Sarpong Minister-designate of the Ashanti Region, E.K.T. Addo Minister-designate of the Central Region, Bede Ziedeng Minister-designate of the Upper West Region, and Mr. Alhassan Azong Minister-designate at the Presidency.

Five other persons nominated to serve at the presidency will be vetted on Thursday, February 14.

They are Dr Mustapha Ahmed, Alhaji Abdul Rashid Hassan Pelpuo, Fifi Kwetey, Alhaji Lumina Mohammed Muniru and Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe Ghansah.

Comments ( ): Have Your Say >>